Left for dead DC?

For DCC RPG rules discussion. Includes rules questions and ideas, new rules suggestions, homebrews and hacks, conversions to other systems, and everything else rules-related.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Post Reply
JRR
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:51 pm

Left for dead DC?

Post by JRR »

What's the dc to be found not quite dead yet? The book says its a luck check, but doesn't say what the dc should be. I'm thinking 15 should be about right, but is there an official dc I missed?

Thanks.
User avatar
cjoepar
Hard-Bitten Adventurer
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:27 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by cjoepar »

Any kind of straight check against an ability score is made by rolling equal to or under the ability score on a d20. So if the character has a 12 LUCK score, they need to roll a 12 or less on a d20.

You could always chose to do it your way - assigning a DC and rolling a d20 modified by the LUCK modifier if you prefer, but the way I described above is the way the rules are suggesting you do it.
JRR
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:51 pm

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by JRR »

Ah. Interesting, thanks!
JRR
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:51 pm

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by JRR »

Just had a thought: Rolling under will mean the unluckier you are, the more likely you are to survive. That doesn't make sense.
User avatar
Raven_Crowking
Cold-Hearted Immortal
Posts: 2998
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am
FLGS: The Sword & Board
Contact:

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by Raven_Crowking »

JRR wrote:Just had a thought: Rolling under will mean the unluckier you are, the more likely you are to survive. That doesn't make sense.
If you have to roll under 3 (or equal to or under), there is a 3 in 20, of 15% chance of success, because there are three numbers you can roll: 1, 2, 3. If you have to roll under 18, there are 18 numbers you can roll (18 in 20, or 90% chance).
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.
JRR
Wild-Eyed Zealot
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:51 pm

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by JRR »

Wow, I must have been having a brain meltdown, lol.
User avatar
Ravenheart87
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer
Posts: 883
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:34 pm
Location: Győr, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by Ravenheart87 »

Don't worry, maths is hard, especially when you're drunk or unconscious from the blow of a beastman. :)
Vorpal Mace: a humble rpg blog with some DCC-related stuff.
User avatar
Skyscraper
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer
Posts: 660
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by Skyscraper »

Yeah, no worries, math is like luck checks: the simpler it gets, the... harder it gets. Or... Something.

Hehe. Just pulling your leg :wink: :mrgreen:
Maledict Brothbreath, level 4 warrior, STR 16 (+2) AGI 7 (-1) STA 12 PER 9 INT 10 LUCK 15 (+1), AC: 16 Refl: +1 Fort: +2 Will: +1; lawful; Armor of the Lion and Lily's Blade.

Brother Sufferus, level 4 cleric, STR 13 (+1) AGI 15 (+1) STA 11 PER 13 (+1) INT 10 LUCK 9, AC: 11 (13 if wounded, 15 if down to half hit points), Refl: +3 Fort: +2 Will: +3, chaotic, Robe of the Faith, Scourge of the Maimed One, Darts of Pain.
User avatar
Skars
Mighty-Thewed Reaver
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:05 pm
Location: Fremont, CA

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by Skars »

Ravenheart87 wrote:Don't worry, maths is hard, especially when you're drunk or unconscious from the blow of a beastman. :)
I totally misread that as "especially when you're drunk or unconscious from all that blow and beastwomen" Boy, you guys sure know how to party! :mrgreen:
User avatar
Ravenheart87
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer
Posts: 883
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:34 pm
Location: Győr, Hungary
Contact:

Re: Left for dead DC?

Post by Ravenheart87 »

Skars wrote:I totally misread that as "especially when you're drunk or unconscious from all that blow and beastwomen" Boy, you guys sure know how to party! :mrgreen:
There's a reason why a group of adventurers is called "party" and not "team". :D
Vorpal Mace: a humble rpg blog with some DCC-related stuff.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules discussion”