Page 1 of 1

Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 5:02 pm
by UniversalHead
I've been playing DCC (and Lankhmar) for a while, and it struck me that I may not have got the ability modifiers system correct, especially when it comes to Luck. So, just to confirm ...

- Obviously, a player's modifiers from the various abilities change when their ability number changes, right? Eg if their Stamina is reduced for some reason, so will their modifer - you're not stuck with your starting modifier for the whole game.

- When a new player rolls on the table on page 19 to find their lucky roll, this modifier does not change for that particular circumstance for the entire game. However, does their Luck modifier change *for all other circumstances* as their Luck changes, as with normal abilities? This isn't very well clarified in the book, I feel.

Many thanks!

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:13 am
by Raven_Crowking
IMHO, yes.

The purpose of calling out when modifiers do not change is, I believe, the assumption that they otherwise do.

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:48 am
by GnomeBoy
Raven_Crowking wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:13 am
IMHO, yes.

The purpose of calling out when modifiers do not change is, I believe, the assumption that they otherwise do.
Seconded.

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2020 1:02 pm
by UniversalHead
I think that in rules writing, it's possible to write so succinctly and effectively that assumptions aren't necessary.

Anyway, thanks for clearing that up.

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 5:44 pm
by Maezar
When I played with Judge Brennan in Game Therapy on the DCC stream, the luck modifier did not change as the luck score did. Someone even asked about this in the chat.

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 6:23 pm
by GnomeBoy
Maezar wrote:
Sun Aug 23, 2020 5:44 pm
When I played with Judge Brennan in Game Therapy on the DCC stream, the luck modifier did not change as the luck score did. Someone even asked about this in the chat.
Could that have been Brendan's judgement based on running in that context to keep things simple?

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2020 6:24 pm
by GnomeBoy
I know, for example, they do not track changes in modifiers for tournament play, to stop the game from bogging down. That makes sense, but doesn't mean that's the default across the board for all types of play.

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 12:09 pm
by Tabulazero II
So if you have to recalculate the Luck modifier at every loss of Luck points, how does this square up with the rules that states that you cannot regain luck points easily ?

If you are at -3 luck modifier, you could be there for a very long time

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:01 pm
by Jim Skach
Tabulazero II wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 12:09 pm
So if you have to recalculate the Luck modifier at every loss of Luck points, how does this square up with the rules that states that you cannot regain luck points easily ?

If you are at -3 luck modifier, you could be there for a very long time
Yes...yes you could.

But there are tons of opportunities to restore Luck - it's a Judge thing.

I personally use the Fleeting Luck rules - but it truly is a table to table preference.

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 2:25 pm
by GnomeBoy
Tabulazero II wrote:
Thu Aug 27, 2020 12:09 pm
...how does this square up with the rules that states that you cannot regain luck points easily ?

If you are at -3 luck modifier, you could be there for a very long time
Passages which I'm familiar with aren't stating that Luck is difficult to regain, rather that it is expected to ebb and flow... I'm curious what words you're referring to with that.

And FWIW, moving from a -3 ain't all that hard -- if you're at a 3 Luck, all you need is an award of 1 to get to a -2 Modifier. A reward of 3 gets you to a -1 Modifier. One reward and you're off that -3.