Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Are you new to DCC? Are you loaded down with questions to ask before you begin play? Explore this section for answers and insights -- and ask your own questions -- about getting started with the Dungeon Crawl Classics Roleplaying Game...

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Post Reply
UniversalHead
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:47 am

Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Post by UniversalHead » Sun Jul 26, 2020 5:02 pm

I've been playing DCC (and Lankhmar) for a while, and it struck me that I may not have got the ability modifiers system correct, especially when it comes to Luck. So, just to confirm ...

- Obviously, a player's modifiers from the various abilities change when their ability number changes, right? Eg if their Stamina is reduced for some reason, so will their modifer - you're not stuck with your starting modifier for the whole game.

- When a new player rolls on the table on page 19 to find their lucky roll, this modifier does not change for that particular circumstance for the entire game. However, does their Luck modifier change *for all other circumstances* as their Luck changes, as with normal abilities? This isn't very well clarified in the book, I feel.

Many thanks!

User avatar
Raven_Crowking
Cold-Hearted Immortal
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Post by Raven_Crowking » Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:13 am

IMHO, yes.

The purpose of calling out when modifiers do not change is, I believe, the assumption that they otherwise do.
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.

User avatar
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
Posts: 3759
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
FLGS: Bizarro World
Location: Left Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Post by GnomeBoy » Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:48 am

Raven_Crowking wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 3:13 am
IMHO, yes.

The purpose of calling out when modifiers do not change is, I believe, the assumption that they otherwise do.
Seconded.
Gnome Boy • DCC playtester @ DDC 35 Feb '11. • Beta DL 2111, 7AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since '77 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be 100+ DCC Monsters

bygrinstow.com

Kuruz, Mendicant, N • AC 8, 4 hp • R-1, F0, W0 • S9 A8 S9 P11 I16 L8
Zend, Grave Digger, L • AC 9, 3 hp • R-1, F0, W1 • S14 A6 S9 P13 I13 L6
Mercer, Outlaw, N • AC 12, 2 hp • R0, F-1, W1 • S7 A9 S6 P13 I8 L13
Dejah, Ropemaker, C • AC 10, 2 hp • R0, F1, W-1 • S8 A12 S15 P7 I11 L7

UniversalHead
Far-Sighted Wanderer
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:47 am

Re: Very basic question about Luck and modifiers

Post by UniversalHead » Mon Jul 27, 2020 1:02 pm

I think that in rules writing, it's possible to write so succinctly and effectively that assumptions aren't necessary.

Anyway, thanks for clearing that up.

Post Reply

Return to “DCC College - New Judges Start Here”