Any guidelines...official or otherwise..for small parties?

There are over 50 DCC Adventures in print, including the main line (DCC #66.5 and up), the Holiday adventures, the Free RPG Day adventures, the new Horror line, and more! Suss them all out here!

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

jeffb
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Any guidelines...official or otherwise..for small parties?

Post by jeffb »

I have a Kids group (13/14 yo) I have been running games for the past 2 years, and I have decided to try DCCRPG this time around.

The kids REALLY hate running more than 1 character each ..tried that in S&W. I will start them off at level.1.

So my question is, any guidelines on using a pre-pub DCC module for 1/2 the recco # of PCs? I would like to pick up a couple mods. We are playing again a week from today.
"Maybe I'm just getting too old to want to have to deal with a heap o' rules and the steaming heap o' rules lawyers who go with them." Gary Gygax
IronWolf
Deft-Handed Cutpurse

Re: Any guidelines...official or otherwise..for small partie

Post by IronWolf »

My first recommendation would be to still start with a 0-level. They are great fun and in my opinion help really get a DCC RPG game started off right and give players the sense of feel of a DCC RPG game. Easier to lose a 0-level character! I say this as a person that tends to not like playing more than one character as a player either. The mechanics of a 0-level character are pretty easy and you don't run into the problems of multiple characters per player you might at higher levels.

But, you know your players better than me, so make the choice that is right for your group. Just noting that 0-level funnel feels different than running multiple characters at 1st level or higher.