Who handles the tables?

A forum for DCC RPG judges. This forum covers adventure design, monsters, judges' advice, campaign building, and all other such things.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

midges
Ill-Fated Peasant

Who handles the tables?

Post by midges »

Hi there!
I'm new to DCC and have only read the rules so far. Now I am trying to figure out how certain things would work best to emphasize the unique aspects of DCC.

I am wondering how other judges handle tables like Mercurial Effects and Mighty Deeds.
Should the players have access to the tables and look up the results for their characters? I would fear that the players would know all the results pretty quickly and just "play by numbers" as with fumbles in PF et al.
The unique effect of these features would quickly wear off i suspect. I've seen the same happening with the Crit-Deck in Pathfinder.
The other option would be that the judge handles all the table lookups and describes the outcome so that the players never know if they hit the same result as last time or if it is something completely different.

What do you think?

cheers,

midges
Raven_Crowking
Cold-Hearted Immortal
FLGS: The Sword & Board

Re: Who handles the tables?

Post by Raven_Crowking »

They do, usually, with the understanding that the tables are only suggestions, and do not trump my input.
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.
RevTurkey
Mighty-Thewed Reaver

Post by RevTurkey »

I've run it where I handled all the tables etc. it worked just fine and I enjoyed that they didn't know what would happen for various results etc...I made them jot down notes to learn how their spells play out for various success numbers.

I would strongly advise writing down all the related page numbers though or use the Crawler app if you enjoy modern new fangled technology.