New Judge starting a level 0 game question

A forum for DCC RPG judges. This forum covers adventure design, monsters, judges' advice, campaign building, and all other such things.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

Hoggarth
Ill-Fated Peasant

New Judge starting a level 0 game question

Post by Hoggarth »

Hello veteran judges.

I am brand new to DCC and the old school style of RP in general. However, I love what I'm reading and I want to run a game at my FLGS. I have a question.

I already have a regular group of 6 gamers and we meet every other week to game. So I know I can get most or all of them to start a DCC game. However, in order to promote the game at the shop, I was thinking I would open it up to whoever wanted to play and maybe sell some books :twisted: . What will most likely happen is I'll have 12 or more people wanting to play. I was trying to come up with options other than ending up with 12 players after the funnel. I am more comfortable with 6 players max.

Have any of you played in a game with a ton of people playing 1 level 0 character each and when it dies your just out? While that might whittle the group significantly, it also may tick off people who end up not playing on. Would it work logistically?

The other thing I was thinking would be to recruit a co-judge and see if we ended up with 2 good sized groups. Trouble is I only know of one other guy who has a book.

One more question if you will.

Say I start with 6 players and after the funnel only 2 of them have alive characters. Do you usually "try again" with new level 0's or do the dead players just make level 1's ?

Thanks!
goodmangames
Cold-Hearted Immortal

Re: New Judge starting a level 0 game question

Post by goodmangames »