Goodman Games

Fan Forums
It is currently Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:49 pm 
Offline
Far-Sighted Wanderer

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:45 am
Posts: 23
FLGS: I have none.
According to core book, warriors and such can try to cast spells from scrolls untrained - by rolling a d10 and not adding any bonuses by ability score or caster level.

But here's the thing - even the first level spells require at least a roll of 12 to succeed. This means that a fighter attempting to read a magical scroll is doomed from the beginning!

So what's even the point? Why make him roll a d10 to see what happens? Why not just say "It doesn't work"? The only even remote reason I can think of is to see if he rolls a natural 1 and gains magical mishap, but even then it's not much of a reason.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:29 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:41 am
Posts: 2679
The warrior can burn Luck. A lucky Halfling watching him can burn Luck on his behalf. A magical effect might require a lower spell check result (see The People of the Pit).

_________________
SoBH pbp:

Cathbad the Meek (herbalist Wizard 1): AC 9; 4 hp; S 7, A 7, St 10, P 17, I 13, L 8; Neutral; Club, herbs, 50' rope, 50 cp; -1 to melee attack rolls. Hideous scar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:45 pm 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3077
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
What Raven said, but also: Mercurial Magic on the particular spell may mean a bump up in the size of the die rolled, perhaps.

Beyond the RAW, there could be a realm or zone where magic flows more easily and there is some kind of bonus to ALL spellcheck attempts.

A Warrior could have the favor of a Patron (Patron Bond can be cast on others), and the Patron could be favorably involved in the situation...

— The real point of the rules is anything is possible...

_________________
Gnome Boy (a.k.a. "Jon") • DCC play-tester @ DDC 35, Feb 2011. • Beta DL 2111, 7:00 AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since 1977 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC Monsters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:46 pm 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:37 am
Posts: 71
Look at you guys... Giving superb answers...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:45 am 
Offline
Ill-Fated Peasant

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:39 am
Posts: 4
FLGS: Games Galore
On the same kind of topic, another kind of silly question about how that works. It does have Wizard's apprentice as a level 0 character occupation. Would a character that rolled that as a level 0 be able to go on to make this roll as a trained roll, since such a thing would be in his background?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:49 am 
Offline
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:25 am
Posts: 109
Zorrah wrote:
On the same kind of topic, another kind of silly question about how that works. It does have Wizard's apprentice as a level 0 character occupation. Would a character that rolled that as a level 0 be able to go on to make this roll as a trained roll, since such a thing would be in his background?


Scrolls are costly, single-use items. If I were a wizard, I certainly wouldn't let my apprentice practice on them. So as a judge, I might give a wizard's apprentice a bump or two up the dice chain for prior experience, but I don't think I'd grant them a 20-sider for an occupation that they seem to have failed at or gotten fired from.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:03 am 
Offline
Cold-Hearted Immortal
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:46 pm
Posts: 3077
Location: Left Coast, USA
FLGS: Bizarro World
Bilgewriggler wrote:
Zorrah wrote:
On the same kind of topic, another kind of silly question about how that works. It does have Wizard's apprentice as a level 0 character occupation. Would a character that rolled that as a level 0 be able to go on to make this roll as a trained roll, since such a thing would be in his background?


Scrolls are costly, single-use items. If I were a wizard, I certainly wouldn't let my apprentice practice on them. So as a judge, I might give a wizard's apprentice a bump or two up the dice chain for prior experience, but I don't think I'd grant them a 20-sider for an occupation that they seem to have failed at or gotten fired from.

I think I agree. Skills that are part of your profession you roll with a d20, and things you're not familiar with are a d10.

While an apprentice should have familiarity with spellcasting, if they've advanced as some other Class they don't get a free Wizard Class ability -- just like a squire to a knight is not going to get Mighty Deeds unless they, too, become a Warrior.

I'd suppose they should have some sort of edge, but I'd think that edge could take many forms... They get a larger die (d12? d14?), or they add their Int Mod and Luck Mod, perhaps. Maybe they have a single spell that they get a d16 with, while others are the d12 or even just the 'standard' d10.

Thinking about it, I think the 'slight edge' should just apply to one or two spells at most, in general. Maybe they get two if they roll them randomly, but only one if they choose it...?

_________________
Gnome Boy (a.k.a. "Jon") • DCC play-tester @ DDC 35, Feb 2011. • Beta DL 2111, 7:00 AM PT, 8 June 11.
Playing RPGs since 1977 • Quasi-occasional member of the Legion of 8th-Level Fighters.

Link: Here Be DCC Monsters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group