Need Useful Tips For Playing DCC

If it doesn't fit into a category above, then inscribe it here, O Mighty One...

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

MithrilDice
Gongfarmer
FLGS: Silverwolf Comics

Need Useful Tips For Playing DCC

Post by MithrilDice »

My friends and I are going to try using the DCC rules on an upcoming campaign of ours. I'll be GMing. We've all played D&D 5e since it was released, so we're not total noobs to tabletop RPGs.

Basically, I am looking for any useful tips or advice that will help me run the best game for my players that I possibly can. I'm just about through reading the rulebook. Also, we will be playing the adventure "Sailors on the Starless Sea." I've read that it's pretty good for players new to the system. If you could give me your thoughts on that adventure as well that would be greatly appreciated!
GnomeBoy
Tyrant Master (Administrator)
FLGS: Bizarro World

Re: Need Useful Tips For Playing DCC

Post by GnomeBoy »

I've played a little 5e, so if that's where you're coming from I will say this:

Don't expect every possible thing to be covered by the rules. Like, 5e has a big list of "conditions" (deafened, prone, frightened, sleepy, grumpy, doc ...oh wait, ...sorry), which in DCC are not defined game-mechanically. You're expected to just make stuff up on how a character is or isn't affected when it's not otherwise provided. Use common sense. Make stuff up in general.

And above all, use the Dice Chain whenever it would help with making stuff up. For example, Someone's got their hand's tied behind their back, but wants to pick a lock... Bump their Action Die down the Dice Chain a step or two to reflect the increased difficulty. Bumping up the Dice Chain when someone has some kind of edge on the situation is cool, too.