What campaign setting will you use with the new DCC core set

If it doesn't fit into a category above, then inscribe it here, O Mighty One...

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, michaelcurtis, Harley Stroh

MrHemlocks
Chaos-Summoning Sorcerer

What campaign setting will you use with the new DCC core set

Post by MrHemlocks »

Hello

I am new to DCC and from what I had been reading the game seems great! I will be buying the DCC core rule book when released. This will give me some time to prepeare a campaign setting for my players. Now this is where you guys can help.

I spoke with Mr. Goodman and he mentioned Aereth locations will be used with the new line of adventures made for DCC. For those of use new/old players of DCC that can not get a hold of these< see below> three adventure series because of being out of print and those that can be ordered sell for a ridiculous on ebay/Amazon.com what campaign setting to use?

I plan to start a DCC campaign at my local game store this fall but really need a world setting. I have run a Call of Cthulhu group for over four years now and what I feel really binds the players to the game is the campaign setting we use...1920'S Arkham.

Any suggestions? :?

Dungeon Crawl Classics 35 *TOS: Gazetteer of the Known Realms
Dungeon Crawl Classics Adventure Path: Saga of the Dragon CultSaga of the Dragon Cult
Dungeon Crawl Classics 51: Castle Whiterock--- On Tue, 8/16/11, Joseph Goodman
finarvyn
Cold-Hearted Immortal
FLGS: Fair Game, Downers Grove IL

Re: What campaign setting will you use with the new DCC core

Post by finarvyn »

I think that a number of campaigns have that "DCC" feel, or at least the potential to work well with DCC. Almost anything with a "dark pulp" type Swords & Sorcery feel should be fine.

1. The modules, etc, that Goodman Games put out already are a great start.
2. The old Judges' Guild "Wilderlands" campaign would work well and has an old school pulpy feel.