Question for the writers/ developers/ artists/ cartographers

General talk about Goodman Games. If it doesn't go anywhere else, post it here. Includes news, announcements, questions, gossip, and so on.

Moderators: DJ LaBoss, finarvyn, Harley Stroh

DJ LaBoss
Wild-Eyed Zealot

Question for the writers/ developers/ artists/ cartographers

Post by DJ LaBoss »

Hey all,

"So what do you do?"

Do you have a hard time relating what you do to civilians? Do you find yourself explaining what a role-playing game is again and again?

just curious.

Brendan
Jengenritz
Steely-Eyed Heathen-Slayer

Post by Jengenritz »

OH YEAH

All the time.

"I'm a freelance game writer."

Normally they somehow refuse to hear "game" and fixate on "writer".

"Oh, a writer! Do you write novels?"

*sigh

If they hear "game," they say, "Oh. (note the lack of exclamation point) Do you write board games?"

This leads to a discussion like, "No, it's like those choose-your-own-adventure books you might have read as a kid, but lots of people can do it at the same time, and one guy 'runs' the book for everybody. I write the scenario for the 'book' and they play it."

Something like that. If they say, "You mean...(always a pause) like D&D?"

They usually follow with, "I used to play that in college. (wait for it...wait for it...) Do people still play that?"

"No, I write these things but nobody buys them. Weird business, huh?"

^ is what I want to say. I actually usually launch into something like how it's still popular and I talk about GenCon.

To which I usually hear, "You mean it's like a Star Trek convention?"

And I cleverly counter with, "No, it's more like a trade show for the industry, more like E3 for video games (oh how prophetic THAT turned out to be) or any of the conventions that CJ (my uber-chemist wife) goes to. Only more fun."

Big laugh, next topic of conversation. I swear and would testify before Congress that I've had that exact conversation no less than three times.