Search found 10 matches

by Zorrah
Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:00 pm
Forum: Magic and Spells
Topic: Casting while bound
Replies: 6
Views: 9659

Re: Casting while bound

The other fun about that is that it also says that charm person can not change the nature of the target, or make them do something a good friend would not otherwise do. The cleric did indeed carry a weapon, but throughout the the characters entire career (including the funnel) he has not yet struck ...
by Zorrah
Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:12 am
Forum: Magic and Spells
Topic: Casting while bound
Replies: 6
Views: 9659

Re: Casting while bound

I see. Just a little background on what sparked the question. Last night, my wizard defeated a much higher level wizard by spellburning ropework for 20. There were a whole lot of arguments for why that could or could not be done. Even with this question answered, from my cheese point of view, with t...
by Zorrah
Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:30 am
Forum: Magic and Spells
Topic: Casting while bound
Replies: 6
Views: 9659

Casting while bound

There's not a whole lot talking about when a wizard needs to have verbal or somatic components for his spells, so in DCC, can a wizard cast while bound or gagged? It was never really clear in the books.
by Zorrah
Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:14 pm
Forum: Rules discussion
Topic: Level Equivalency?
Replies: 3
Views: 3642

Re: Level Equivalency?

I love the DCC dogma about "balance" (balance, like encumbrance, is obsolete), and I'm down with having encounters being "unfinishable", like The One Who Watches From Below (6-8 first level characters) has a level boss with 98hp and 3 attacks per round! Run boys! But the level boss of the Emerald E...
by Zorrah
Thu Jul 27, 2017 11:32 pm
Forum: Characters
Topic: Fantastic Deaths
Replies: 2
Views: 6950

Re: Fantastic Deaths

Just did a funnel where I had some beauty and the beast inspired animated objects. A tea cup with high ground crit a level 0 character when he poured boiling tea on him.
by Zorrah
Thu Jul 27, 2017 11:28 pm
Forum: Characters
Topic: Elven archer
Replies: 0
Views: 6061

Elven archer

Honestly, I do believe that such a character concept would be very befitting of appendix N. Limitations, their melee combat table would need to be worse than the current elf and they would lose their spellcasting abilities, but however, with a longbow in hand, things get really interesting. When usi...
by Zorrah
Fri Jul 21, 2017 11:13 pm
Forum: Characters
Topic: Elves
Replies: 29
Views: 45426

Re: Elves

I know this is quite the necro, but it's still only on second page. Still. Anyway, fun fact. Isn't the usual literary story of someone trying to increase their intelligence the story of someone who now knows how horrible everything is because their so smart and wind up being unhappy or killing thems...
by Zorrah
Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:49 am
Forum: Characters
Topic: DCC Halfling only class that's worse than Basic D&D source
Replies: 44
Views: 41681

Re: DCC Halfling only class that's worse than Basic D&D sour

Well, my niece had her only survivor of a funnel be a halfling. She was all upset about it, but we were going right into our level 1 game, and after 2 such level 1 games, the halfling clicked for her, she figured out her character's role in the party and now she is enjoying her halfling.
by Zorrah
Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:41 am
Forum: Characters
Topic: Are wizards too powerful in your campaign?
Replies: 26
Views: 28440

Re: Are wizards too powerful in your campaign?

Well, the other half of it, a wizard at my table rolled hot on her mercurial magic and rolls a 1d30 for magic missiles. She's gotten a couple of nat 30s, so, int +1, level 1, there's a 32 right there. Brings her average spell check for magic missile to 17.5. That's just my experience. Someone else w...
by Zorrah
Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:45 am
Forum: Magic and Spells
Topic: Attempting to cast spells untrained is an automatic failure
Replies: 7
Views: 11657

Re: Attempting to cast spells untrained is an automatic fail

On the same kind of topic, another kind of silly question about how that works. It does have Wizard's apprentice as a level 0 character occupation. Would a character that rolled that as a level 0 be able to go on to make this roll as a trained roll, since such a thing would be in his background?

Go to advanced search